Ayanna Pressley and her Fellow ‘Squad’ Members Win Congress Re-Election

by Shine My Crown Staff

All four members of the progressive “squad” have won re-election.

Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York, Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, and Rashida Tlaib of Michigan have all secured their seats in the US Congress.

All four members of the progressive Democratic sisterhood took to social media to celebrate their victory.

“Together, we have fought for our shared humanity. We have organized. We have mobilized. We have legislated our values. I am so proud to be your congresswoman and your partner in the work. I believe in the power of us. And we’re just getting started,” Pressley said in a message to her supporters.

“Our sisterhood is resilient,” Omar tweeted.

“Serving New York-14 and fighting for working-class families in Congress has been the greatest honor, privilege and responsibility of my life,” Ocasio-Cortez said. “Thank you to the Bronx and Queens for re-electing me to the House despite the millions spent against us, and trusting me to represent you once more.”

“Tonight’s results … are evolving and ongoing,” she tweeted, “but I will say we’ve been sounding the alarm about Democratic vulnerabilities with Latinos for a long, long time. There is a strategy and a path, but the necessary effort simply hasn’t been put in. We have work to do.”

The votes are currently being counted as the country awaits the official results. Former vice president Joe Biden is ahead in the count so far, but Donald Trump is already threatening to appeal the decision in the Supreme Court.

He recently pushed through the nomination of Amy Coney Barrett — where the Republicans currently hold a majority.

Related Posts

Crown App