Ava DuVernay to Receive the Industry Visionary Award at the 2018 ABFF Honors

by Yah Yah
Instagram @ava

This week, ABFF Ventures announced that they would be presenting director/producer, Ava DuVernay with the proud to present her with the 2018 ABFF Honors Industry Visionary Award which will be presented to her by the Emmy-award winning Lena Waithe.

The event will take place at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles on Sunday, February 25th, and will be hosted by comedian Cedric the Entertainer.

Singer Billy Dee Williams, Power’s Omari Hardwick, comedienne Tiffany Haddish will also be honored on the night.

The categories include Movie of the Year Award, Television Show of the Year Award (Drama & Comedy), Hollywood Legacy Award, Excellence in the Arts Award, Entertainment Icon Award, Industry Visionary Award, Distinguished ABFF Alumni Award and the Rising Star Award.

Ava DuVernay will join an illustrious list of past ABFF Honors celebrants, including actors, Regina King, Diahann Carroll, Queen Latifah, Denzel Washington, Issa Rae, Terrence Howard and filmmakers and producers Ryan Coogler, F. Gary Gray and Will Packer.

“I am thrilled to honor Ava DuVernay. She is the embodiment of the importance of inclusion in Hollywood and deserves recognition as a creative force, as well as a forward-thinking leader in our industry. I’m equally excited to have the incomparable Cedric the Entertainer at the helm of what will be an enlightening and entertaining show,” says Jeff Friday, ABFF Ventures CEO.

Ava’s newest film, A Wrinkle In Time, starring Oprah Winfrey, Mindy Kaling, Storm Reid and Reece Witherspoon is slated to hit theaters across the country on March 9th

Related Posts

Crown App